Arista eAPI (JSON-RPC over HTTP) in Go

I’ve been wanting to try out Go for a while, and finally decided to give it a try. This is a first stab at using Go to communicate with Arista eAPI via JSON-RPC over HTTP. There is a standard JSON-RPC library in Go, but unfortunately it doesn’t work over HTTP. Here is the code:

I start out by defining a package. Since I’m just using this standalone at this point, we’re using package main.
Next I import a few libraries. One to note is the "github.com/mitchellh/mapstructure" library. This is a handy tool for decoding map structures into Go structures, which we’ll make use of when taking in the ‘unknown’ JSON data and putting it into a struct. To install this library Go has a handy tool that can fetch directly from Github:

go get github.com/mitchellh/mapstructure

Now I move on to defining structs to hold our data in. The first three: Parameters, Request, and JsonRpcResponse are used to decode the initial JSON-RPC stuff. Just as a refresher here’s what JSON-RPC request will look like:

{
   "jsonrpc": "2.0",
   "method": "runCmds",
   "params": {
      "version": 1,
      "cmds": [
         "show version"
      ],
      "format": "json"
   },
   "id": "1"
}

Some things to note when looking at the structs for newcomers to Go like myself:
* The `json:"jsonrpc"` tags tell the JSON library to use that as the actual JSON object name instead of the name given in the struct. I ended up having to do that a lot due to the need for having the struct variable name be capitalized.
* I use the type []map[string]interface{} whenever I’m dealing with data that is not known beforehand, such as the result from the RPC.

Starting a line 54, I create a function to call eAPI via HTTP. I start by filling out the JSON Request struct fields, then marshaling them into a JSON object. After we have the JSON object, I execute an HTTP POST to send the command over and return the response as the return value of the function. Before returning the response I run it through decodeEapiResponse to take the raw response data and put it inside a JsonRpcResponse struct. All of this gets called down in the main function in lines 107-110.

Next you’ll see two functions I implemented to decode the result further into more usable structs. The first was my initial attempt for ShowVersion, which I wrote before I found the mapstructure library. This takes the response and puts everything into the appropriate fields of the struct and returns a ShowVersion struct.

The second decoding function makes use of the mapstructure library and is much cleaner. Now mapstructure takes care of all the manual mapping I did in the previous function for me.

I hope to take this and use goroutines for the calls, that will allow these to happen concurrently. The upside of this will be that I could have commands sent to a number of switches more efficiently. Go isn’t quite as easy as Python, but has some definite advantages in speed, concurrency, and static type checking that make it a useful alternative when performance matters. Any comments or suggestions for improvements are certainly welcome! The code can be cloned from github:
https://github.com/fredhsu/go-eapi.git

One thought on “Arista eAPI (JSON-RPC over HTTP) in Go

Leave a Reply

